mypostcardsfromhome


Resolutions
May 2, 2011, 2:03 pm
Filed under: family, ideas, life, organized, work | Tags: , , , ,

Most people make their resolutions on New Year’s Eve and promptly forget or fall back into old habits.  Stop drinking (as much), eat better, lose weight, exercise more often… we’ve all tried something and likely have given up before Valentines’ Day.

Instead, I make my resolutions on my birthday – it’s a more important annual event than the old calendar one.  Each year I come up with a goal to achieve for each of the following 5 statements:

  • To Do
  • To Be
  • To Have
  • To Give
  • To Learn

Some examples? 

To Do a Marathon.  Check! I’ve run 3 full marathons and at least 4 half marathons.  To Give My Time.  Check!  I’ve volunteered for many years for different charitable organizations.  To Have a New Car.  Check!  This is old news now as I’ve moved on to newer cars since.  You get the picture. 

This year I’ve had a hard time narrowing down my list to specific, measurable accomplishments for some reason; perhaps I just haven’t sat down and thought about it hard enough?  Given that I seldom get a moment of peace and quiet to think that’s probable. It’s possible my daily To Do list is getting in the way or maybe it’s just that the goals are too vague and I need to make them into smaller tasks.  Whatever the reason, I’m halfway through my year and I’ve yet to put my Birthday Resolutions firmly in ink.

Perhaps I’ll end here and get to work on it so I can post them?  I am open to suggestions . . .

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Well done Kiley -this is a blog that I will actually follow….I think you have found your calling..

Like

Comment by Trez




Leave a Reply

