mypostcardsfromhome


Morning Run
June 8, 2011, 6:52 pm
Filed under: family, fitness, ideas, kids, life, running | Tags: , , , , , ,

What a great way to start the day – going for a run on a glorious, sunny, but not-yet-hot morning. 

As I lay in bed contemplating my plans for the day, my husband said “are you going for a run?”  My response?  “I don’t think so, I’ve got too much to do before the kids get up – I’ll go later – you go get ready for work.”  How I miss the freedom of being able to just go whenever I want, but with children, work and projects, I always find excuses.  A moment later, still lying in bed, I heard the footfall of a runner passing my house.  Then my runner’s envy crept in.  That was all the motivation I needed.  My husband said “are you sure?”  Next, I was up and dressed and out the door.

It was 6:30 a.m. as I hit the sidewalk; with great music in my ears I started running.  My running playlist is varied; sometimes I don’t really hear it at all.  Other times I rely heavily on the music to keep me going.  Today I was keenly aware of the scent of flowers as the day began, the lack of cars on the streets, and the view of the mountains against the blue sky.  How lucky I am! 

To live in this beautiful city.  To be able to run.  To be healthy.  To be alive.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

you have painted very beautiful and vivid picture with your words! it almost makes me feel like doing the same thing, except i don’t like to get up early, and i don’t run. 🙂 love your blog

Like

Comment by bubby




Leave a Reply

