mypostcardsfromhome


My personal Tour de France 2011
July 19, 2011, 2:29 pm
Filed under: cycling, family, fitness, ideas, life, running, travel | Tags: , , , , , ,

I love watching “The Tour” (as we refer to it in our house).  The excitement, the competition, the scenery, and the tension.  Before my husband and I were married, I knew little about the Tour de France – it’s a bike race in France, right?  But in 2004, while eloping in Italy, I was stuck in a road block caused by the Giro D’Italia passing through a quaint hillside Tuscan village.  And a Tour de France fan was born.  

This is the 98th year of the Tour and over a 3 week period the best road cyclists in the world will cover a total distance of 3,430.5 kms (roughly 2132 miles).  Can you think of any physical activity that you could maintain day after day for 3 weeks?  You can actually watch them get leaner as the weeks go on.   Having run several marathons, I cannot imagine going out again the next day, and the next again to do it all over again!  

So, you’re asking yourself now, what kind of personal Tour de France have I embarked on?  No, I’m not getting keen in to road cycling – in fact, I was on my mountain bike last week with my 4 1/2-year-old son for the first time since he was in my belly!

I have decided to celebrate the Tour by sampling French wines!  Yes, while they race toward Paris enduring blood, sweat, and tears, I am going to sip French wine with my husband while watching the most recent PVR’d stage. 

It’s not easy staying on top of this race.  Each day there are at least 4 hours of footage to get through and I have two kids and a limited ability to stay awake past 9pm. But I’m addicted.  And I’m trying some new wines.  Does it get any better? 

Sadly, I didn’t make any tasting notes on the bottles we’ve tried (that would distract me from watching the race), but I did jot down their names and can say that I enjoyed each one. 

Paul Mas Estate, Syrah Viognier, Nicole Vineyard 2008

Croix du Mayne Cahors, Eleve en fut de chene, 2008

Bourgogne Pinot Noir, Cuvee les deux Papis, 2006, Alex Gambal

Les Costes, Nobles Terres, Cotes Du Rhone, 2008

By the way, here’s the link to the Tour website in case you are interested:

http://www.letour.fr/us/homepage_horscourseTDF.html

There is a lot to learn and I’m still pausing the race to ask questions (or top up  my glass), but I highly recommend recording the early morning version with Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen as commentators – they are great!

     Cheers!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

