mypostcardsfromhome


It’s all too much!
August 7, 2011, 2:27 pm
Filed under: books, family, ideas, kids, life, organized, work | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

As Leonardo da Vinci said, “He who possesses most must be most afraid of loss.”

We’ve all known or heard of someone losing everything they own in a fire or natural disaster; there are even those people who inspire us with their story of selling everything they own to live on less.

Until last weekend, I had lots of projects to work on and boxes to sort – I knew where they were and had an idea what was in them – but then one of the pipes in our basement developed a leak.  Thankfully it wasn’t a flood.  We only had to pull up the carpet and baseboards to dry out the floor, and in my sanctuary (the one room in the house, where “my stuff” is safe from little hands) we are going to have to rip up the flooring and dry out the subfloor.  And one thing leads to another.  Now that the floor is being ripped out, we know the right thing to do would get rid of the subfloor and pour concrete to avoid potential mold issues.

It takes a lot of time and energy to get and stay organized and I am one of those people who knows where everything is, but the item I need is often hard to access.  I enjoy a lot of activities including biking, skiing, running, but I also like to sew, paint, make jewelry and take photos.  I am addicted to magazines; I love to collect articles, decorating ideas and recipes.  In addition, I have 2 children who are developing interests of their own and creating a massive amount of “stuff” that is taking over our storage area.

So . . . we have spent the last 3 days packing, sorting, and moving everything from our basement into a storage pod.  Along the way, I’ve tried to follow Peter Walsh’s advice in his book “It’s All Too Much!” (which breaks the house down room by room and gives practical step-by-step process for decluttering). We’ll be hosting a yard sale next week with the items we no longer need and I’ve already finished one of many “projects” that was taking up space (literally and mentally) for 2 years! 

I have found myself exhausted and overwhelmed this week, but am optimistic that this process will be liberating.  All I needed was some motivation.  Destiny perhaps?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sounds like you have your hands full! Hope the yard sale went well. I think I need to follow your lead and do the same….I guess the trick is getting started!

Like

Comment by Anita Mac

Still a few boxes remaining to sort, but I’ve made progress. I can’t say enough about Peter Walsh’s book “It’s all too much!” Very helpful in getting to the bottom of the clutter.

Like

Comment by mypostcardsfromhome




Leave a Reply

