mypostcardsfromhome


40 before 40

No, it’s not the measurement for a renovation at home; it’s a new look at my Annual Birthday Resolutions.  Traditionally, I make 5 resolutions on my birthday to keep me focused for the year ahead (January 1st seems a bit arbitrary) which include something I want “To Do, To Have, To Be, To Learn and To Give”.

This year, as I get closer to what some refer to as over-the-hill, I thought I might expand my resolutions to include a list of 40 goals I intend to achieve before I turn 40.  In case you’re wondering – it’s now 2 years away.  So far, I have come up with (in no particular order):

  1. be clutter free
  2. sort and empty boxes at mom’s house (I think there are 4)
  3. get my Vespa built and running
  4. learn basic, conversational spanish
  5. renew my vows
  6. host a holiday open house
  7. host a summer BBQ
  8. complete an olympic distance triathlon
  9. finish “1st 500” photo album for my youngest son
  10. get caught up on annual photobooks
  11. create filing system for our household – that works
  12. hang all artwork/decor in the house
  13. load digital photo frame
  14. learn manual settings on camera
  15. transfer dvd videos into a functional & editable format
  16. find a place for everything
  17. keep the weight off
  18. make lasagna from scratch
  19. bake bread (also from scratch)
  20. make jam
  21. learn to prune the garden – properly
  22. start my own business
  23. go camping with the kids
  24. move music cd’s into a binder system
  25. get a new front door
  26. take the kids on a road trip (more than 4 hours & including an overnight stop)
  27. take a knife-handling class
  28. master the BBQ
  29. learn to use iPhoto – import & organize photos
  30. go to Argentina
  31. buy recreational property
  32. paint & hang my own artwork
  33. dance again – in a class
  34. try karate
  35. keep a gratitude journal
  36. learn to meditate
  37. write and publish a children’s book
  38. create and publish my own meal-plan
  39. take skating lessons
  40. do my happiness project for a full year

I know there are more, but they usually come to me in the middle of the night and I don’t always write them down!

If you have suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

while not suggestion, I have a tip for awesome home made bread. Check out the no-knead bread from the New York Times – it is simple, no mess and tastes good. I usually add something to it like 6 tbsp of flax, or a clove of finely diced garlic …. just for a variation.
3 cups flour
1/4 tsp jnstant yeast
1 1/4 tsp salt
Combine all, add 1 5/8 cups water and stir until blended. Cover with plastic wrap and leave to rise for 12 – 18 hours. Bake at 450F for 30 minutes (coveredm, pluas 15 – 20 minutes uncovered til loaf is beautifully browned.
(I find it makes a nicer crust if you have the loaf pan fully heated in the over before adding the bread. When hot, grease, add dough and cover.

Like

Comment by Anita Mac

Thanks! I’ll try this for sure. I am a proficient cook and baker, but for some reason bread recipes calling for yeast freak me out! I like the idea of a “rustic” bread that I don’t have to make look perfect!

Like

Comment by mypostcardsfromhome

[…] to check my 40 Before 40 list to see what other goals I can achieve this […]

Like

Pingback by It’s about time! « mypostcardsfromhome




Leave a Reply

