mypostcardsfromhome


Happy Birthday to Me!
October 14, 2011, 10:07 pm
Filed under: family, goals, ideas, kids, life, marriage, resolutions | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

This year for my birthday I went for brunch.  This might not sound exciting, but it is one of the things I miss most about life before kids.  Going out at 10:30 and lingering over a leisurely breakfast, catching up with friends, making plans for the weekend and not feeling rushed.  With two busy boys, we don’t do this very often, although we do get out for Dim Sum occasionally.  So for my 38th birthday, all I really wanted was to have eggs benedict in a restaurant.  And I got it! 

My husband and I took the kids to a local diner which serves a great brunch AND offers toys and books for the kids.  They also happen to have a big screen TV mounted on the wall which was playing old Looney Tunes cartoons so the kids were occupied and I enjoyed my traditional benny with home fries. 

While there, I announced my birthday resolutions to my husband.  Traditionally, I make 5 goals on my birthday to keep me focused for the year ahead (January 1st seems a bit arbitrary) which include something I want “To Do, To Have, To Be, To Learn and To Give”.  I usually start thinking them up a few weeks in advance and try to choose things that will make my life better in some small way, are measurable so I know that I’m making it happen.  Once decided, they are posted beside my computer as a reminder.  This is the first time I’ve published them so publicly (which, if I’m honest, may have impacted my decision-making process a little).

TO DO:  my own Happiness Project

TO HAVE:  a regular date night with my husband

TO BE:  5 minutes early

TO GIVE: compliments

TO LEARN:  to cook on the BBQ

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] I also made a vision board to keep me focussed, but, I didn’t post my goals for all to see. If you’re new to my birthday resolutions, check out last year’s post: Happy Birthday To Me. […]

Like

Pingback by It’s about time! « mypostcardsfromhome




Leave a Reply

