mypostcardsfromhome


Running Mojo . . . Where Are You?
November 23, 2011, 7:38 am
Filed under: fitness, goals, resolutions, running | Tags: , , , ,

It’s official – I bailed! For the first time ever, I withdrew from a race. 

Months ago, I registered for a 1/2 marathon which was scheduled for last Sunday and I only trained half-heartedly for it.  Normally, the act of registering for an event is enough to keep me motivated, but this time, something changed.  Even when I woke up early enough to get out the door, I would find a handful of other things that took priority (which doesn’t include going back to sleep).  I asked some of my “running” friends for their opinion:  “Would you run a half marathon without proper training?”  Most of them replied “Yes, depending on how much running I’ve been doing.” 

In this case, close to none.  I’ve lost interest.  I’m bored with the scenery on my “routes” and am lacking initiative to come up with new routes.  My music is bringing me down; I’m tired of the same old songs and playlists. 

This has never happened to me before, but as I thought about it and chatted with friends, I have come to realize that it’s time to shake things up.  I’ve been a “runner” for as long as I can remember.  But I used to also have time to ski, mountain bike, practice yoga, take aerobics classes, hike, and dance.  Perhaps this is what is missing?  Diversity?

After countless minutes of research (it’s hard to find hours for this task before the family wakes up), I have determined that I need some new music on my iPod and a new cardio workout which either occurs before the kids are up or after my husband returns from work OR offers childminding. Enter spin class and dancing!

I am really excited about returning to dance in particular.  I am registering for a weekly ballet class and, as fate would have it, purchased a Groupon yesterday for 10 drop-in classes at a local dance studio where I’ll be able to try out some other dance styles. 

Plus, indoor cycling at spin class is not only a great workout, but it will get me in shape for hitting the trails come spring and potentially for that pesky Olympic distance triathlon that sits on my 40 Before 40 list!

Progress report pending . . .

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

