mypostcardsfromhome


Not only on Thanksgiving . . .

 

Since I started my gratitude journal last year, I have been more thankful.  More appreciative of the little things.  The smell of my sons’ hair when they come in from playing outside.  The lingering embrace at the end of a quick hug from my husband.  A perfect cup of tea.  A relaxing foot massage.  The simplicity of everyday routines.

But today is Thanksgiving (in Canada) AND my 39th birthday . . . I have much to be thankful for:

  • a husband who does more than most
  • two boys who inspire me to be better and do better
  • true friends who remember my birthday (without the help of Facebook)
  • old friends who are still there despite the passage of time
  • new friends that have come to me through my children
  • a family that has supported me whether they agreed with my decisions or not
  • grandparents that are still around to teach their great-grandchildren the joys of baking and the many uses of a magnifying glass
  • being able to stay home with my boys until I decide what to do next
As Edith Piaf croons and I prepare a traditional turkey dinner for my loved ones, I am savouring a glass of wine while my boys watch a movie and my husband takes a well-deserved nap.  Life is good.
Now to commit to my resolutions for 39 . . . to do, to have, to be, to give, to learn. . .

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂 And Happy Birthday!

Like

Comment by gpicone

Thank you for the well-wishing and for checking in on my blog!

Like

Comment by mypostcardsfromhome

You are awesome!
and, a great writer.

Like

Comment by kristen

Thanks for the encouragement and the compliment!

Like

Comment by mypostcardsfromhome




Leave a Reply

